STATUTORY AND ADVISORY COMMITTEES, WORKING PARTIES AND PANELS – MEMBERSHIP 2015/2016

Note: figures in brackets indicate the political ratio, i.e. (Labour: Conservative: Liberal Democrat); asterisk indicates party spokesperson. Statutory Committees should be appointed proportionately or if not proportionate should be appointed with no councillors voting against. Advisory Committees or working parties need not be proportionate.

(1) STATUTORY COMMITTEES AND PANELS

(listed under relevant portfolio)

(a) ADULT SOCIAL CARE AND PUBLIC HEALTH

(i). Discharge from Guardianship by Wirral Council under the Mental Health Act 1983 Panel (2:1:0)

(Members appointed from membership of the Policy and Performance Families and Wellbeing Committee)

Councillor Denise Roberts Councillor Moira McLaughlin Councillor Bruce Berry

(ii). Health and Wellbeing Board

3 Political Group Leaders plus, as co-optees, the Cabinet Members for Adult Social Care and Public Health, Councillor Chris Jones and Children and Family Services, Councillor Tony Smith

Group Leaders' nominees as deputies, Councillor Ann McLachlan, Councillor Lesley Rennie and vacancy

(b) CHILDREN AND FAMILY SERVICES

(i). Complaints Panel (School Curriculum and Related Matters) (2:1:0 plus named deputies)

Councillors Tony Smith Deputies – Councillors Paul Doughty
Jim Crabtree Walter Smith

Walter Smith Bernie Mooney

Councillor Wendy Clements Deputies – Councillors Paul Hayes

Cherry Povall

(ii). Education Staff Panel (4:2:1 plus named deputies)

Councillors Paul Doughty Deputies – Councillors Chris Meaden

Tony Smith Walter Smith Bernie Mooney

APPENDIX B

Councillors Wendy Clements Deputy - Councillor Paul Hayes

Cherry Povall

Councillor Pat Williams Deputies – Councillors Alan Brighouse

Chris Carubia

(iii). Headteacher Appointments Panel

(3:1:0 plus named deputies)

Councillors Bernie Mooney Deputies – Councillors Jim Crabtree

Walter Smith Janette Williamson

Tony Smith

Councillor Wendy Clements Deputy - Councillor Cherry Povall

(iv). School Appeals Panel

Lay Chairs: Mrs A Barker, Mrs S Reynolds, Mr J Smallthwaite, Mr D Spencer, Mrs J Turner, Mrs H A Wells and Mrs H Welsh

(v). Standing Advisory Committee on Religious Education (SACRE) (4:2:0)

Councillors Tony Smith Deputies – Councillors Phill Brightmore

Walter Smith Jim Crabtree
Bernie Mooney Denise Roberts

Moira McLaughlin

Councillors Wendy Clements Deputy - Councillor Paul Hayes

Cherry Povall

(vi). Wirral Schools Forum (Funding Consultative Group)

Observers (2:1:0)

Councillor Bernie Mooney Councillor Tony Smith Councillor Wendy Clements

(vii). Wirral Children's Trust Board (2:1:0)

Cabinet Member – Councillor Tony Smith and Councillors Chris Meaden and Wendy Clements

(viii). Adoption / Fostering Panels

Adoption: Councillor Tony Smith (Chair)

Fostering: Councillors Christina Muspratt, Cherry Povall and Phil Gilchrist

(c) SUPPORT SERVICES

Independent Remuneration Panel (4 persons who are not members of the Council and who are not disqualified from being a member)

Don Latham (Chair), Ray Allan, Nunzia Bertali, Pauline Brown

(2) ADVISORY COMMITTEES AND WORKING PARTIES (listed under relevant portfolio)

(a) CHILDREN AND FAMILY SERVICES

(i). Youth and Play Service Advisory Committee

(8 Council Members - 3:3:2)

Councillors Tony Smith Deputy – Councillor Jean Stapleton

Chris Meaden Walter Smith

Councillors Paul Hayes Deputy - Councillor Tracey Pilgrim

Wendy Clements Cherry Povall

Councillors Chris Carubia Deputy – Councillor Phil Gilchrist

Pat Williams

(ii). Corporate Parenting Group (2:2:2)

Councillors Chris Meaden, Tony Smith Councillors Cherry Povall, Wendy Clements Councillors Alan Brighouse, Pat Williams

(iii). Headteachers and Teachers Joint Consultative Committee (7 Council Members - 3:2:2)

Councillors Denise Roberts Deputies – Councillors Jim Crabtree

Tony Smith Moira McLaughlin George Davies Bernie Mooney

Councillors Wendy Clements Deputy - Councillor Paul Hayes

Cherry Povall

Councillors Dave Mitchell Deputies – Councillors Alan Brighouse

Pat Williams Phil Gilchrist

(iv). Safeguarding Reference Group (established by Council 15 December, 2014)

The Leader of the Council; the Leaders of the second and third largest groups on the Council; the Cabinet Member for Children and Family Services, the Cabinet Member for Adult Social Care and Public Health, the Chair and

spokespersons from Families and Wellbeing Policy and Performance Committee.

Deputies for Members – Councillors Ann McLachlan, Lesley Rennie, vacancy

The Chief Executive, the Strategic Director for Families and Wellbeing, the Director of Children's Services, the Head of Children's Specialist Services, the Director of Adult Social Services, the Head of Adult Social Services Delivery, the Corporate Safeguarding Manager, a representative of the Head of Legal and Member Services, the independent chair of Wirral LSCB and the SAPB.

(b) ECONOMY

- (i). Wirral Trade Centre Working Party (1:1:1)
- 3 Political Group Leaders or their nominees.

(ii). Birkenhead Business Improvement District Steering Group

Councillor Jean Stapleton Kevin Adderley - Strategic Director: Regeneration and Environment

(c) ENVIRONMENT AND SUSTAINABILITY

Wirral Climate Change Group (1:1:1)

Councillor Bernie Mooney Councillor Tom Anderson Councillor Dave Mitchell

(d) GOVERNANCE, COMMISSIONING AND IMPROVEMENT

(i). Members' Development Steering Group (1:1:1)

Councillors Tony Norbury (Chair)
Councillors Wendy Clements
Councillors Phil Gilchrist

(ii). Members' Equipment Steering Group (2:2:2)

Councillors Stuart Whittingham and Ann McLachlan Councillors Jeff Green and Steve Williams Councillors Alan Brighouse and Chris Carubia

(e) LEISURE, SPORT AND CULTURE

(i). Birkenhead Park Advisory Committee (4:2:2)

Councillors Chris Meaden, George Davies, Denise Roberts, Jean Stapleton Councillors Cherry Povall, David Elderton Councillors Pat Williams, Alan Brighouse

APPENDIX B

(ii). Hilbre Island Nature Reserve Management Committee (2:4:2)

Councillors Jerry Williams, Tony Smith Councillors Gerry Ellis, John Hale, Jeff Green, Geoffrey Watt Councillors Alan Brighouse and Chris Carubia